marineko: (Default)
The Chinese translation of NazoDi actually looks pretty much like the Japanese version. But recently the Chinese Books Department at Kinokuniya carry these:



It's a special hardcover edition of the book, and it's 20% off (purchase-with-purchase) right now.

It also comes with this:



A small NazoDi tote!
marineko: (bookish)
...for the store right now. Mass market paperback editions of Sara Gruen's Ape House and David Mitchell's The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet are in <33

Also, this month is a good one for fans of Terry Pratchett and Haruki Murakami, because we're highlighting ALL THEIR TITLES during the month of February. Well, all of Pratchett's Discworld titles, that is. Minus the Tiffany Aching books. The Pratchett is part of this "explore new worlds" promotion where, starting from this month, each month we'll highlight a new series that we love because of awesome worldbuilding. The first is Pratchett, of course!

The Murakami highlight is because of the Norwegian Wood movie. ^^

Anyway, I was reading an old issue of The Bookseller this morning and found an interview with James Daunt of Daunt Books, and there are lots of stuff in the interview I found so love-worthy, but these are my favourites because they fit my idea of what a perfect bookstore should be like:

"I'm not saying we're perfect but if you talk to our staff you'll find them exceptionally knowledgeable, well-read, intelligent and resourceful. Bookselling needs those kinds of people. The thing that continues to drive this company is staff."

"We don't despoil our books by putting stickers on them. We don't use price as a marketing tool. As a concept, three-for-two goes completely against the grain of how I like buying books."

More Stuff

Nov. 20th, 2009 12:18 am
marineko: (uh huh)
Today's been very stressful, more so for [livejournal.com profile] happyichigo than for me. Because I take breaks in between the taking of books here and there and here again. Christmas promotion is tiring, sure, but it's a welcome break really. The whole replenish-return-display-replenish-return-display routine does get boring. Oh, and sales reports. I haven't done mine for this month yet!

One of my regular customers came in today. At first I was apprehensive to hear that she was looking for me since it's a busy day, and she's a very fussy customer who usually have very long lists of books to order, but today she just came to give me chocolates. Which was really nice of her. It really made the day much nicer.

After work I had tea with Jen and [livejournal.com profile] happyichigo. Really shouldn't be spending, with the warehouse sale coming up and all, but we all needed to de-stress a bit after today. Then my mom picked me up (yay! I didn't have to take the train back! KLCC was way too packed today) and we had dinner at Nando's.

I'm reading John Green's An Abundance of Katherines and realised (1) the last time I was thinking/talking about this book I was confusing it with something else I've read, and now I wonder what's the actual title of the book I was thinking of, and (2) I am really enjoying this book, and will probably be getting Paper Towns next. I already have Looking For Alaska and Let It Snow on order.

Tomorrow - must work on my paper!

July 2015

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122 232425
262728293031 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 19th, 2017 10:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios